New Technique! Marbled Cameo for the Kaleidoscope Butterfly Cake Topper

I’m so proud of myself!

I’ve just thought up a ridiculously quick and simple way to make absolutely gorgeous cake toppers using two colors of chocolate.

Two-Tone 'Cameo' Kaleidoscope Butterfly Cake Topper

So all I did was take melted Ghirardelli molding chocolate, put it on the surface of a Kaleidoscope Butterfly Mold, pull a flexible silicone spatula across it, let it cool, then add white chocolate on top of it!  That’s IT!!!

Ghirardelli Dark Dipping Chocolate

Ghirardelli White Dipping Chocolate

I wasn’t even very careful about it, and where I ‘missed’, it created a very pretty marbled effect!

If it started to solidify,  I’d just pop it into the microwave for a few seconds.

I am going to have so much fun with this technique!

I can’t wait to try to using tinted white chocolate in pink and red for Valentine’s Day – A Kaleidoscope Heart, No-Bake Backwards Cake with all the elements in a contrasting color, not just the hearts!

You could probably get a very pretty ‘stained glass’ look rather easily by using several colors.

You can also use regular chocolate, but be sure to temper it, so that it will solidify properly without graininess:

Quick-Tempered Chocolate

Finely chop chocolate or use chocolate chips. Melt two thirds of the chocolate in the microwave for thiry second intervals, stirring in between with a silicone spatula (don’t use wood, it can introduce moisture and cause your chocolate to ‘seize’).  Keep the temperature below 120F.   When chocolate has melted, add the remaining one third in three batches, stirring until smooth after each addition.

Using a pastry brush, paint the melted chocolate into your mold.  Be sure to brush into the crevices, brushing out any trapped air bubbles.

5 Responses

  1. Hi Leah,

    Thanks very much for your interest! You can order them from the Zanda Panda website ‘Products’ page.

    You can order the Kaleidoscope Heart mold from: http://zandapanda.com/products.asp#KHProd

    And you can order the Kaleidoscope Butterfly Topper from: http://zandapanda.com/products.asp#KBProd

    Please let me know if you have any questions at all and thanks again for your interest!

    Sandy

  2. How can I purchase these Heart and Butterfly molds?

  3. I use this technique for melt & pour soap! I love the Zanda Panda butterfly mold … we use mutiple colors of soap base and use teh same technique use used with the chocoloate!

    • Hi Kelly,

      Thanks for the comment! Please feel free to send in photos of your creations made with the kaleidoscope molds. I am planning a soapmaking demo soon, let me know if you’d like to be a guest blogger on the subject!

      Sandy

  4. […] Thanks for the New Technique from Sandra Lira, you can get more details way to make the chocolate cake topper here. […]

Leave a comment